Iceland Reopens Borders to 14 Additional Countries Skip to content

Iceland Reopens Borders to 14 Additional Countries

By Yelena

Photo: Golli.

Iceland will lift travel restrictions on residents of 14 countries starting tomorrow, in accordance with the decision of EU member states to do the same. Residents of the European Union, EEA, EFTA, and Schengen Area countries are, as before, permitted entry into Iceland.

The 14 countries are:







-New Zealand



-South Korea





Read More: What do I need to know when travelling to Iceland in 2020 Post COVID-19?

The list will be reviewed regularly. Some travellers remain exempt from these restrictions, including students from non-Schengen countries coming to study in Iceland and specialists coming to work. The Directorate of Immigration provides more information on travel restrictions, exemptions, and documents required of travellers before departure and upon arrival.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!