Four Added to List for Honorary Artists’ Stipend

Alþingi Icelandic parliament

Four artists are to be added to the list of honorary artists who received a state stipend to support their work. The decision comes from the Cultural Committee of Parliament, and the four new artists are replacing four who have passed on either this year or last.

The new recipients of the artist stipend will be: Hildur Hákonardóttir, Kristín Þorkelsdóttir, Manfreð Vilhjálmsson, and Þórhildur Þorleifsdóttir.

The list of honorary artists is notable this year for including graphic designers and architects. Historically, the list has generally been reserved for the traditional fine arts, including visual art, music, and theatre.

Kristín Þorkelsdóttir is noteworthy as the graphic designer behind some Icelandic banknotes and the Icelandic passport.

The new honorary artists will be joining the ranks of notable Icelandic creatives such as Erró, Bubbi Morthens, and Guðrún Ásmundsdóttir, among others. In total, the list includes some 25 notable Icelandic artists who have contributed in a significant way to Icelandic culture.

The new additions to the honorary artists’ stipend are in line with a a budget proposal which was passed yesterday.