Winners of Iceland Music Awards Skip to content

Winners of Iceland Music Awards

By Iceland Review

The Iceland Music Awards were presented in Harpa Concert Hall on Friday night.

Björk received four rewards: Pop Album of the Year, Female Vocalist of the Year, Lyricist of the Year, and she shared an award for Recording of the Year with Arca and The Haxan Cloak, who worked with her on recording her album Vulnicura.

Following is a list of winners in pop and rock:

Rock Album of the Year: Destrier – Agent Fresco

Pop Album of the Year: Vulnicura – Björk

Rock Song of the Year: ‘Way We Go Down’ – Kaleo

Pop Song of the Year: ‘Crystals’ – Of Monsters and Men

You can watch Kaleo perform the winning rock song inside Þríhnúkagígur volcano, Southwest Iceland:

This video shows Of Monsters and Men performing the pop song of the year:

Male Vocalist of the Year: Arnór Dan

Female Vocalist of the Year: Björk

Live Performer of the Year: Of Monsters and Men

Music Event of the Year: Iceland Airwaves

Lyricist of the Year: Björk

Best Newcomer in Rock and Pop: Sturla Atlas

Here is the complete list of winners in Icelandic.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!