Winner of Icelandic Children’s Book Award Announced Skip to content

Winner of Icelandic Children’s Book Award Announced

ertu-gud-afi_ththThis week it was announced that Thorgrímur Thráinsson is the winner of the 2010 Icelandic Children’s Book Award for Ertu Gud, afi? (“Are You God, Grandpa?).

This is the second time that Thráinsson has received the Children’s Book Award. In 1997 he was awarded for the book Margt býr í myrkrinu (“Many Things Live in the Dark”), a press release states.

Thráinsson is among the country’s better known authors and his books for children and teenagers have proven highly popular.

Ertu Gud, afi? was published by Vaka-Helgafell this week.

The Icelandic Children’s Book Award was first granted in 1986 and many of Iceland’s most beloved children’s book authors have won it.

Every year, authors submit their scripts under a pseudonym—this year more than 30 scripts were submitted—and a jury picks the most promising script. The prize is ISK 500,000 (USD 4,400, EUR 3,200).

The deadline for submitting scripts to the next competition is February 1, 2011. They are to be handed in to publishing house Forlagid.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article