West Nordics Increase Cooperation Skip to content

West Nordics Increase Cooperation

Today, the foreign ministers of Iceland, the Faroe Islands and Greenland signed a declaration regarding a plan to look into the advantages of establishing a three-way free trade agreement between the countries, according to a press release. A task force of representatives from all three countries, is to be set up and will, for the first time, convene in Nuuk, Greenland, in October.

Authorities in the West Nordic countries, as the three often referred to, emphasize increased cooperation. Parliamentary resolutions to that effect have been passed in all three countries, and today’s declaration takes those into account. It stresses that increased cooperation is important, not least in light of an international awakening regarding the importance of the Arctic region. The nations’ interests are intertwined in many ways, and it’s of essence to commonly define their trade interests.

The declaration was signed by Foreign Ministers Lilja Alfreðsdóttir from Iceland, Poul Michelsen from the Faroe Islands and Vittus Qujaukitsoq from Greenland.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article