Three Icelanders Nominated for International Dublin Literary Award Skip to content

Three Icelanders Nominated for International Dublin Literary Award

Three Icelandic novels, by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, Jón Kalman Stefánsson, and Sjón, are among the 150 nominees for the International Dublin Literary Award. RÚV reported first. The award is presented each year for a novel written in English or translated into English. Nominations are submitted by public libraries worldwide.

Yrsa Sigurðardóttir has been nominated for the novel Lygi, or Why Did You Lie?, translated by Victoria Cribb. Jón Kalman is nominated for Fiskarnir hafa engan fætur, or Fish Have No Feet, translated by Philip Roughton. Sjón has been nominated for Mánastein, or Moonstone – The Boy Who Never Was translated by Victoria Cribb. The titles were nominated by libraries in Reykjavík and Geneva, Switzerland.

A shortlist will be announced in April and the prize awarded on June 13th. The winning author receives EUR 100,000 (ISK 12.3 million/USD 116,000), one of the highest monetary prizes in the world granted for a literary award. For winning translations, the translator receives one quarter of the prize, or EUR 25,000.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article


Recommended Posts