Ten Icelanders Awarded Order of the Falcon Skip to content

Ten Icelanders Awarded Order of the Falcon

Ten individuals were recently presented with the highest order of the Republic of Iceland, the Order of the Falcon, at the presidential residence Bessastaðir.

order_of_the_falcon_2013_presidential_officeThe recipients of the 2013 Order of the Falcon awards. Photo courtesy of the Office of the President of Iceland.

The recipients of the 2013 awards were: artist Eggert Pétursson; hotel manager Eva Sigurbjörnsdóttir for her contribution to the development of tourism in rural areas; developmental therapist Helga Birna Gunnarsdóttir; professor Inga Dóra Sigfúsdóttir; for her contribution to and research in the field of prevention; office manager Ingibjörg Einarsdóttir, for her contribution to the improvement of the reading skills of elementary school children; Kristín Guðmundsdóttir, sports teacher of athletes with disabilities; physician Kristján Eyjólfsson for his contribution to the field of heart treatment and health sciences; theater director Magnús Geir Þórðarson; farmer and master builder Sveinn Elías Jónsson for his contributions to his local community; and social affairs, and musician Þórir Baldursson.

Click here to read about last year’s recipients.


Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article