Sixteen Awarded Order of the Falcon Skip to content

Sixteen Awarded Order of the Falcon

By Erik Pomrenke

order of the falcon 2024

Fourteen recipients gathered at the presidential residence Bessastaðir yesterday to be recognized with Iceland’s only order of chivalry. Two recipients were abroad for the ceremony and will be recognized at the earliest possible opportunity.

The awarded, which is given out on June 17, Iceland’s National Day, recognizes exceptional contributions to Icelandic culture and society. Among the heads of state, entertainers, academics, artists, and politicians that have received the award are Björk, Nína Dögg Filipussdóttir, Hilmar Örn Hilmarsson, Vigdís Finnbogadóttir, and others.

This year’s recipients included:

Dísella Lárusdóttir, an opera singer recognized for her contribution to the performing arts.

Eiríkur Jónsson, chief physician, recognized for his contribution to urological surgery and healthcare services.

Fannar Jónasson, mayor of Grindavík, for his service to the community during the ongoing Reykjanes eruptions.

Guðrún Hildur Rosenkjær, tailor and historian, for her work on the research and preservation of Icelandic national costumes.

Jóna Dóra Karlsdóttir, founder and former chairperson of New Dawn (Ný dögun), for her pioneering work in supporting the bereaved and promoting open the open discussion of grief.

Margrét Vilborg Bjarnadóttir, engineer and founder of PayAnalytics, for her contributions to both software and gender equity.

Margrét Tómasdóttir, nurse and former scout leader, for her work on behalf of the scouting movement.

Ómar Einarsson, former division manager at Reykjavík City, for his contribution to sports, recreation, and welfare issues.

Rósa Björk Barkardóttir, molecular biologist, for her contribution to science and cancer research.

Sigrún Steinarsdóttir Ellertsen, founder and manager of Akureyri Food Donations (Matargjafir Akureyri), for her contribution to humanitarian efforts in her local community.

Stefán Baldvin Sigurðsson, former university rector, for his work in education, science, and social affairs.

Svanur Ingvarsson, teacher and master carpenter, for his contribution to sports activities for the disabled.

Þorvaldur Jónsson, farmer, for his social and cultural work in his region.

Þór Sigfússon, founder of Iceland Ocean Cluster, for his pioneering work and innovation in the field of fisheries.

Þórey S. Kemp Guðmundsdóttir, physical education teacher, for her contribution to women’s sports and wellness for the elderly.

Þórhallur Sigurðsson, actor and director, for his contribution to Icelandic theater and pioneering work in children’s theater.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!