Seven Women to Leave Icelandic Parliament Skip to content

Seven Women to Leave Icelandic Parliament

Seven out of 25 female MPs, many of whom have a long experience in parliament, have announced that they will not run again in the 2013 parliamentary election. These include Prime Minister Jóhanna Sigurðardóttir and many former ministers.

althingi-backyard_pkAlþingi. Photo by Páll Stefánsson.

In the Independence Party, Þorgerður Katrín Gunnarsdóttir and Ólöf Nordal, both of whom have served as the party’s vice-chairs, will step down as MPs, reports. Þorgerður has also operated in the cabinet.

In the Social Democratic Alliance, PM Jóhanna is stepping down, and so is Speaker of Parliament Ásta Ragnheiður Jóhannesdóttir, who has also served as a minister.

In the Progressive Party, Siv Friðleifsdóttir is leaving the political stage. She has the longest experience as MP within the party and she was also a minister for several years.

Two former parliamentary group chairs of the Left-Green Movement have announced their resignation from politics, Guðfríður Lilja Grétarsdóttir and Þuríður Backman.

Once these seven MPs retire, no female MP will have worked longer than ten years in Alþingi, the Icelandic parliament, after next year’s election.

As for other politicians calling it quits, MP for the Left-Greens Þráinn Bertelsson has announced that he will not run again, as has Birkir Jón Jónsson of the Progressive Party and the independent MP Atli Gíslason.

Click here to read more about MPs retiring and here for other recent political news.


Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article