Seven Actors Resign Skip to content

Seven Actors Resign

Following the announcement by National Theatre director Tinna Gunnlaugsdóttir that ten of the theatre’s youngest actors would be fired, seven more mature actors resigned.

They are Fjórhallur Sigurdsson, Stefán Jónsson, Edda Heidrún Backman, Pálmi Gestsson, Sigurdur Sigurjónsson, Randver ?orláksson and Ívar Örn Sverrisson. Gunnlaugsdóttir has since made three further actors redundant.

Speaking on a radio show yesterday she said she was in favour of getting rid of actors with permanent contracts and hiring them instead on a temporary basis. She believes this will create more competition and more opportunities for young actors.

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

Share article


Recommended Posts