Reykjavík’s Sister Cities Skip to content

Reykjavík’s Sister Cities

How many sister cites does Reykjavík have? Is it 20, 202—all the world’s capitals—58 or 17?

rvkcitycenter-ingolfstorg_psPhoto: Páll Stefánsson/Iceland Review.

Seventeen. All the Nordic capitals and some more obscure ones like Strumica, a city in eastern Macedonia near the Novo Selo-Petrich border crossing with Bulgaria.

Named after the Strumica River which passes through it, the town and surrounding region has about 100,000 inhabitants.

Here is a list of Reykjavík’s sister cities. Note that there’s no Dublin, London (but rather Kingston upon Hull), Tallin or Riga on the list:

Baku (Azerbaijan)

Caracas (Venezuela)

Copenhagen (Denmark)

Helsinki (Finland)

Kingston upon Hull (UK)

La Paz (Bolivia)

Moscow (Russia)

Nuuk (Greenland)

Oslo (Norway)

Saint Petersburg (Russia)

Seattle (USA)

Stockholm (Sweden)

Strumica (Macedonia)

Tórshavn (Faroe Islands)

Vilnius (Lithuania)

Winnipeg (Canada)

Zevenaar (Holland)


Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article