Pictures of New Icelandic Government Skip to content

Pictures of New Icelandic Government

A new government, led by Prime Minister Bjarni Benediktsson, has now officially taken power in Iceland. It did so following a state council meeting today. The government has eleven ministers, seven men and four women. Six of the ministers are from the Independence Party, three from the Reform Party and two from Bright Future. The government has a tight majority, or 32 out of 63 members of parliament.

Government 11.01.2017.

The new cabinet, pictured with Icelandic President Guðni Th. Jóhannesson. Photo: Geir Ólafsson.

Outgoing PM Sigurður Ingi Jóhannsson promised his Progressive Party would be tough, issue-based and sensible in the opposition, RÚV reports. He said he was grateful for having served the nation and for the progress his government had made.

He wished the new government well and stressed the importance of looking at the nation as a whole. “There are 332,000 people who live in this country in different types of industry, all of which should have equal rights.”

Government 11.01.2017.

Iceland Review photographer Geir Ólafsson took pictures of the new cabinet at Bessastaðir, the presidential residence.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article