Mýrin winner at Icelandic Oscars Skip to content

Mýrin winner at Icelandic Oscars

Thriller Mýrin, directed by Baltasar Kormákur, took home the most awards at last night’s Icelandic film and television awards.

Mýrin was awarded as film of the year, Baltasar Kormákur as the director of the year, Ingvar Sigurdsson received an award as best actor and Atli Rafn Sigurdsson as best supporting actor. Morgunbladid reports.

Additionally, Mugison was awarded for his music in the film and his music in A Little Trip to Heaven, also directed by Baltasar Kormákur.

Magnús Scheving, creator of Lazy Town, received a special award for his pioneering work, presented by Iceland’s President Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson.

The children’s TV series is broadcast around the world and has been nominated for both Emmy’s and BAFTA’s.

Ómar Ragnarsson was chosen by viewers as the most popular TV presenter of the year. Ragnarsson has been active in fighting the controversial dam in Kárahnjúkar. The award was handed over by Iceland’s Prime Minister Geir H. Haarde.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article