Leif Erikson Exploration Awards Presented Skip to content

Leif Erikson Exploration Awards Presented

By Iceland Review

The Leif Erikson Exploration Awards were presented this week at the Exploration Museum in Húsavík, North Iceland, according to a press release from the museum.

The recipients this year are American Apollo 17 astronaut Harrison Schmitt, Australian around- the-world-sailor Jessica Watson and British exploration historian Dr. Huw Lewis-Jones.

Astronaut Harrison Schmitt received the Leif Erikson Exploration Award for his scientific work on the moon in 1972.

Jessica Watson received the Leif Erikson Young Explorer Award for her solo 210-day voyage around the world, completed in 2010, when she was only 16 years old.

Dr. Lewis-Jones is the author of many acclaimed books. He received the Leif Erikson Exploration History Award.

In the first week of October, 2016, the Húsavík Explorers Festival will take place. The festival will consist of talks, concerts, film screenings and more.

The Exploration Museum is dedicated to the history of human exploration. In 1965 and 1967 the astronauts of the Apollo Program traveled to North Iceland as part of their training.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!