Laxness is now a Crater on Mercury Skip to content

Laxness is now a Crater on Mercury

The Working Group for Planetary System Nomenclature has approved new names for nine craters on Mercury: Bechet, Damer, David, Erté, Larrocha, Laxness, Monk, Rikyū, and Varma.

Halldór Laxness. Photo: PS.

One of the crater is named for Nobel Prize winner Halldór Laxness (1902-1998) who won the Nobel Prize in Litterature in 1955.

You can see a photo of the crater here:


Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article