Icelandic Literature Prize Announced Skip to content

Icelandic Literature Prize Announced

Three authors, Ófeigur Sigurðsson, Snorri Baldursson and Bryndís Björgvinsdóttir, were awarded by President of Iceland Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson at the Icelandic Literature Prize ceremony, held at presidential residency Bessastaðir yesterday.

Ófeigur was the winner in the belle-lettres category for his novel Öræfi (‘Wasteland’), Snorri won the prize for his book Lífríki Íslands about Iceland’s flora and fauna in the non-fiction category and Bryndís for her children’s book Hafnarfjarðarbrandarinn (‘The Hafnarfjörður Joke’), reports.

Bryndís also won the Fjöruverðlaun literature prize for women in the children’s book category last week.

The Icelandic Literature Prize was held for the 26th time this year and this was the second year that a special recognition was given to the author of a children’s book. Each of the winning authors received a prize of ISK 1 million (USD 7,500, EUR 6,700).

Author Elísabet Jökulsdóttir received the Fjöruverðlaun prize for her poetry book Ástin ein taugahrúa. Enginn dans við Ufsaklett (‘Love is a Nervous Wreck. No Dance by Ufsaklettur’) in the belle-lettres category and Guðrún Kristinsdóttir for Ofbeldi á heimili – Með augum barna about domestic violence through the eyes of children in the non-fiction category.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article