Icelandic Literary Awards Presented Skip to content

Icelandic Literary Awards Presented

The Icelandic Literary Awards were presented by Icelandic President Guðni Th. Jóhannesson at Bessastaðir, the presidential residence, last night, RÚV reports.

In the category of fiction, Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir received the award for her novel Ör. The book tells the story of 49-year-old Jónas Ebeneser, a heterosexual, divorced man, who for eight years and five months has not embraced a naked woman, at least not willingly. The book was described by RÚV’s critic as “masterfully written,” “possessing great wisdom and addressing issues appealing to the reader’s conscience.” This is Auður Ava’s fifth novel, but her works have been widely translated.

In the category of educational and general subject books, photographer Ragnar Axelsson, better known as RAX, received the award for his photography book Andlit norðursins (The Face of the North). The book includes previously unpublished photos from Iceland, the Faroe Islands and Greenland, as well as the stories behind them. In it, Ragnar attempts to register the lives and work of people in the north and changes that have occurred in their environment and society over the years.

Finally, Hildur Knútsdóttir received the award in the category of children and young adult’s fiction for her book Vetrarhörkur (‘Cold Winter’), the story of an Icelandic family, who survives the attack of extraterrestrial cannibals. The book is a sequel to Vetrarfrí (‘Winter Break’). Hildur’s sister accepted the award on her behalf.

The prize money awarded in each category is ISK 1 million (USD 8,800, EUR 8,200).

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article


Recommended Posts