Icelandic Literary Award Winners 2017 Skip to content

Icelandic Literary Award Winners 2017

The Icelandic Literary Awards for 2017 have been presented, RÚV reports. The winners are awarded in three categories: best work of fiction, best work of non-fiction, and best work of children’s literature.

The winners for 2017 were Áslaug Jónsdóttir, Rakel Helmsdal, and Kalle Güettler in the children’s literature category for their book “Skrímsli í vanda.” Kristín Eiríksdóttir won in the category of fiction for her novel “Elín, ýmislegt.” Unnur Jökulsdóttir’s book “Undir Mývatns: um fluga, flugur, fiska og folk” won for best non-fiction.

The award was founded in 1989 and is awarded by the Icelandic Publishers Association and presented by the President of Iceland. Each of the wins comes with an ISK 1 million (USD 10,000/EUR 8,000) cash prize.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article