Icelandic Crime Queen’s Books Published in France Skip to content

Icelandic Crime Queen’s Books Published in France

By Iceland Review

French publishing house Anne Carrière signed an agreement to publish all four crime novels by Iceland’s most successful female crime author Yrsa Sigurdardóttir yesterday. A four-book deal has never been made with an Icelandic author before.

Yrsa Sigurdardóttir. Photo by Páll Stefánsson.

“We are very satisfied with this agreement,” Pétur Már Ólafsson at the author’s Icelandic publisher Veröld told Morgunbladid. He said other French publishers had also been interested but that the choice had been easy.

The plan is for Sigurdardóttir’s first book Last Rituals (2005) to appear next year and the following three, My Soul to Take (2006), Ashes to Dust (2007) and Veins of Ice (2008) shortly afterwards.

Special emphasis will be placed on Nordic literature at the 2011 Paris Book Fair and the plan is to promote Sigurdardóttir’s books there.

Recently, Sigurdardóttir was signed by a Russian publisher.

Click here to read more about that story.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!