Icelandic Crime Author Invades China Skip to content

Icelandic Crime Author Invades China

Tainted Blood (2000) by Iceland’s king of suspense Arnaldur Indridason, on which the 2006 hit movie Jar City by Baltasar Kormákur is based, has been released in China by the People’s Literature Publishing House.

The book’s sequel, Silence of the Grave (2001), will follow shortly.

Earlier this month Indridason’s Arctic Chill (2005) was released both in Finland and Britain. The Daily Mirror writes in reference to the novel, “One man stands out for his sense of highly believable drama, suspense and an almost effortlessly simple, yet captivating delivery. He is Arnaldur Indridason […], one of the brightest sparks on the international crime writing circuit.”

Indridason is not the only Icelandic crime author to receive international attention. Tími nornarinnar (literally, “The Witching Hour”) (2005) by Árni Thórarinsson was recently released in Denmark as Heksens tid, which the local media refers to as a crime novel that is sure to keep readers wide awake, and in Germany as Todesgott.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article