Icelandic Authors Released in Europe Skip to content

Icelandic Authors Released in Europe

Books by several Icelandic authors are being released in Europe this month, including works by Einar Már Gudmundsson, who is mostly famous for his award-winning novel Angels of the Universe (1995). His 1994 book Epilogue of the Raindrops is currently appearing in French bookstores.

Silence of the Grave (2005) by Arnaldur Indridason was first released in France two years ago and has since been reprinted several times. This month it will be released in a special collector’s edition gift box at Points.

La Femme en vert, as the book is known in France, has received two French literature awards, Prix Fiction 2006 du Livre insulaire de Ouessant and Grand Prix des Lectrices de Elle 2007.

The 2007 novel Óreida á striga (“Chaos on Canvas”) by Kristín Marja Baldursdóttir has been released in Denmark, the sequel to Karitas – án titils from 2004 (“Karitas – Untitled”), which appeared in Denmark last year and was well received.

Finally, crime author Árni Thórarinsson, who has become very successful in France, recently signed an agreement with Spanish publisher Ediciones Ámbar on the publishing rights of Tími nornarinnar (“Wiching Hour”) from 2005 and Daudi trúdsins (“Death of a Clown”) from 2007.

Click here to read more about Thórarinsson.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article