Icelander Wins EU Literature Prize Skip to content

Icelander Wins EU Literature Prize

Halldóra K. Thoroddsen has been named as one of the 12 recipients of this year’s European Union Prize for Literature.

Halldóra wins the prize for her novella Tvöfalt gler (Double Glazing)—a story which “exquisitely captures the often-overlooked passions of old age.”

Death is closing in on an elderly woman in her small apartment; her husband recently passed away, her friends gone, her body failing and her role in society diminished. As she observes the world through her window pane, she feels simultaneously exposed and isolated.

Organizers say: “The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) is an award which recognizes outstanding new and emerging literary talents across Europe, and highlights the wealth of contemporary European literature, while drawing attention to the continent’s unique cultural and linguistic heritage.”

As well as the welcome extra exposure, Halldóra will also receive a EUR 5,000 prize at a ceremony in Brussels on May 23.

She has already won the Fjöruverðlaun women’s literature prize for the same book.

The EU prize is open to all European countries involved in the Creative Europe project, whether full EU members or not.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article