Hjaltalín and Múm Finalists for Nordic Music Prize Skip to content

Hjaltalín and Múm Finalists for Nordic Music Prize

By Iceland Review

una local store

Icelandic bands Hjaltalín and múm have been announced as being among 12 finalists for the Nordic Music Prize 2013.

The Nordic Music Prize is an annual award for the Best Nordic Album of the Year. Inspired by the UK’s Mercury Prize, the award was instigated in 2010 by by:Larm, the leading music industry festival held every year in Oslo. Last year’s winners were Swedish group First Aid Kit, who won the prize for their album The Lion’s Roar.

The winner is decided by a selection process that begins with a panel in each Nordic country selecting their respective nations’ ten best albums from 2013, as stated in a press release from by:Larm.

Representatives from each country then present their shortlists, and these are then whittled down to a list of 12 final nominations. This pan-Nordic mix of 12 albums are assessed by a separate international jury made up of experts from record companies and respected music critics. Finally, the winner is announced during by:Larm itself.

The jury leaders from each country – Ralf Christensen (Denmark), Ilkka Mattila (Finland), Arnar Eggert Thoroddsen (Iceland), Audun Vinger (Norway) and Jan Gradvall (Sweden) – have nominated the following 12 albums forthe Nordic Music Prize 2013:

Atlanter – Vidde
Death Hawks – Death Hawks
Hjaltalín – Enter 4
Iceage – You’re Nothing
Jenny Hval – Innocence Is Kinky
Jenny Wilson – Demand The Impossible
Minä ja Ville Ahonen – Mia
Mona & Maria – My Sun
Múm – Smilewound
Rhye – Woman
Synd Og Skam – Lad Mig Falde Ind Til Dig / Center
The Knife – Shaking The Habitual

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!