Harvest Concert by Áskell Másson at Reykjavík Museum Skip to content

Harvest Concert by Áskell Másson at Reykjavík Museum

Icelandic composer Áskell Másson has written more than 100 different works in his career. At the “Autumn is Close – Harvest Concert” nine works by Másson will be performed in a series of concerts at Kjarvalsstadir – Reykjavík Art Museum tomorrow.

Másson’s compositions will be performed by 14 renowned musicians, including himself, each work lasting from three to ten minutes. Most of the compositions were written after 2000 and two of them will premiere tomorrow.

The performers are as follows:

Áshildur Haraldsdóttir flute, Áskell Másson djembukka, Brjánn Ingason fagot, Einar Jóhannesson clarinet, Frank Aarnink percussion, Gudni Franzson bass-clarinet, Gudrún Birgisdóttir flute, Katie Buckley harp, Kolbeinn Bjarnason flute, Martial Nardeau flute, Melkorka Ólafsdóttir flute, Peter Maté piano, Steef van Oosterhout marimba and Tinna Thorsteinsdóttir piano.

The concert series, which is a co-production by Áskell Másson and Reykjavík Art Museum, begins at 8 pm. Tickets are sold at the entrance and cost ISK 1,500 (USD 12, EUR 7).

Photo courtesy of Reykjavík Art Museum.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article