Harpa Wins Mies van der Rohe Award Skip to content

Harpa Wins Mies van der Rohe Award

The concert and conference centre Harpa has been awarded the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture, the Mies van der Rohe Award. Harpa was the winner out of 350 submitted buildings from 37 European countries.

harpa-lights01_goHarpa. Photo: Geir Ólafsson/Iceland Review.

The award consists of a cash prize of EUR 60,000 (ISK 9 million, USD 80,000) and a sculpture of the Mies van der Rohe’s German Pavilion. The Special Mention is endowed with EUR 20,000 and a sculpture of the pavilion, the symbol of the award.

The award was established in 1987 by the European Union and Mies van der Rohe Foundation and is handed out every two years.

Previous winner include The Netherlands Embassy in Berlin in 2005, the Contemporary Art Museum of Castilla y León 2007, the Oslo Opera House in 2009 and Neues Museum, Berlin, in 2011.

Harpa was designed by Henning Larsen Architects, Studio Ólafur Elíasson and Batteríið.


Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article