Hareide Makes Seven Changes to Men’s National Football Squad Skip to content
Football team
Photo: Jóhann Berg (Golli).

Hareide Makes Seven Changes to Men’s National Football Squad

Åge Hareide, head coach of the men’s national football team, has announced his squad for the upcoming matches in the UEFA Euro 2024 qualifying tournament. Hareide has made seven changes to the previously selected squad, Mbl.is reports.

Aron Einar and Jóhann Berg to be employed as midfielders

At a press conference earlier today, Åge Hareide, newly appointed head coach of the men’s national football team, announced his squad for the upcoming matches against Slovakia and Portugal for the UEFA Euro 2024 qualifying tournament. The two matches will be played at the Laugardalsvöllur sports arena in Reykjavík on June 17 and 20.

As noted by Mbl.is, Hareide made seven changes to the squad since the team’s matches against Bosnia and Liechtenstein in March. He has also selected 25 players instead of 24 previously.

Kristian Nökkvi Hlynsson, a 19-year-old player from Ajax – who has played a major role in Iceland’s U21 and U19 national teams – enters the senior national team for the first time. Willum Þór Willumsson, from Go Ahead Eagles in the Netherlands, also joins the group, having a single senior-level national match under his belt.

Albert Guðmundsson returns to the team after a year’s absence. Birkir Bjarnason, Sverrir Ingi Ingason, goalkeeper Elías Rafn Ólafsson, and Valgeir Lunddal Friðriksson have also been selected for the squad. Hareide noted that Jóhann Berg and Aron Einar will play in the midfield.

The six players who were part of the group in March but are absent this time around are Patrik Sigurður Gunnarsson, Davíð Kristján Ólafsson, Guðmundur Þórarinsson, Aron Elís Þrándarson, Stefán Teitur Þórðarson, and Andri Lucas Guðjohnsen, Mbl.is notes.

The squad is as follows (appearances and goals noted, as well):

Rún­ar Alex Rún­ars­son, Al­anya­spor – 22/​0
Há­kon Rafn Valdi­mars­son, Elfs­borg – 4/​0
Elías Rafn Ólafs­son, Midtjyl­l­and – 4/​0

Hörður Björg­vin Magnús­son, Pan­athinai­kos – 46/​2
Sverr­ir Ingi Inga­son, PAOK – 40/​3
Guðlaug­ur Victor Páls­son, DC United – 34/​1
Al­fons Samp­sted, Twente – 15/​0
Daní­el Leó Grét­ars­son, Slask Wroclaw – 13/​0
Val­geir Lund­dal Friðriks­son, Häcken – 5/​0

Birk­ir Bjarna­son, Vik­ing Stavan­ger – 113/​15
Aron Ein­ar Gunn­ars­son, Al-Ar­abi – 101/​5
Jó­hann Berg Guðmunds­son, Burnley – 84/​8
Arn­ór Ingvi Trausta­son, Norr­köp­ing – 46/​5
Arn­ór Sig­urðsson, Norr­köp­ing – 27/​2
Mika­el And­er­son, AGF – 20/​2
Ísak Berg­mann Jó­hann­es­son, FC Kö­ben­havn – 18/​3
Þórir Jó­hann Helga­son, Lecce – 16/​2
Há­kon Arn­ar Har­alds­son, FC Kö­ben­havn – 9/​1
Will­um Þór Will­umsson, Go Ahead Eag­les – 1/​0
Kristian Nökkvi Hlyns­son, Ajax – 0/​0

Al­freð Finn­boga­son, Lyng­by – 65/​15
Al­bert Guðmunds­son, Genoa – 33/​6
Jón Dag­ur Þor­steins­son, OH Leu­ven – 26/​4
Mika­el Eg­ill Ell­erts­son, Venezia – 12/​1
Sæv­ar Atli Magnús­son, Lyng­by – 2/​0

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article


Recommended Posts