Future of Hope Soundtrack Released Skip to content

Future of Hope Soundtrack Released

The soundtrack to the documentary Future of Hope, with original score and songs by Icelandic London-based musician Biggi Hilmarsson and a new song by Irish folk singer Damien Rice, has been released.


The album also features music by Ampop, an award-winning band from Reykjavík of which Hilmarsson is a member, the duo Feldberg, a combination of electronic, acoustic, folk and percussion elements and Lára Rúnars, who is called “Iceland’s queen of alternative pop” in a press release, as well as the band Blindfold, fronted by Hilmarsson, and Vyvienne Long, a classically trained cellist from Ireland.

Future of Hope, which was in the 2010 IDFA Competition Award for Green Screen Documentary, reflects on the positive impact of the financial crisis in Iceland, asking questions such as: “How are Icelanders adopting sustainable practices to grow and develop?” Premiered in Iceland last autumn, the film has now been released internationally.

Click here to read our review of the documentary and here to buy the soundtrack. It is also available on gogoyoko.com and tonlist.is.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article