Fríða Ísberg wins Per Olov Enquist Literary Prize Skip to content
Photo: via President Guðni Th. Jóhannesson presents writer and poet Fríða Ísberg with the 2022 Icelandic Optimism Award. .

Fríða Ísberg wins Per Olov Enquist Literary Prize

Author Fríða Ísberg is the 2022 recipient of the Per Olov Enquist Literary Prize, awarded annually to “a younger writer set for a European breakthrough.”  Former winners include Jonas Hassen Khemiri, Helle Helle, and one other Icelander, Jón Kalman Stefánsson.

The jury notes that ”in Fríða’s first novel, she comes across as both a poet and a novelist in the way she lays out her material and carefully unfolds her story. Her stylistic craft is impressive, each sentence has something to add and every dialogue transforms the atmosphere. With an eye for our time and a convincing concern for her characters, Fríða Ísberg’s novel the Mark is a big step into the world.”

Fríða’s work has been nominated for The Nordic Council Literature Prize, won The Icelandic Women’s Literature Prize for Fiction, and The Icelandic Booksellers Choice Award. Her first novel, The Mark, has already been released in several other languages and is set to be released by Faber & Faber in August, translated by Larissa Kyzer.

The Chandelier – short story by Fríða Ísberg, translated by Larissa Kyzer, published in Iceland Review issue 5 vol. 18

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article


Recommended Posts