Four Awarded Honourary Artist Salary Skip to content

Four Awarded Honourary Artist Salary

Four artists have been added to the list of those who will receive a so-called “honourary artist salary,” a state-funded grant meant torecognize artistic contributions. RÚV reported first.

The four new artists on the list of 25 individuals are Guðrún Helgadóttir, Gunnar Þórðarson, Kristín Jóhannesdóttir, and Þorgerður Ingólfsdóttir.

Guðrún Helgadóttir is a successful children’s author and playwright. She has served as an MP and city councillor and was named Reykjavík Artist of the Year in 2017.

Gunnar Þórðarson is one of Iceland’s most prolific composers, first rising to national fame as part of the Keflavík band Hljómar (known to English speakers as Thor’s Hammer). He has written many pop songs throughout his career as well as an opera.

Kristín Jóhannesdóttir has directed productions in theatre, film, and radio, including the 1992 film As in Heaven.

Þórgerður Ingólfsdóttir is a choir director and music educator who founded Reykjavík’s leading school choir, stepping down this year after decades as its director. She has received many awards for her work with choirs.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article


Recommended Posts