FIFA World Cup Seeding Pots Announced Skip to content

FIFA World Cup Seeding Pots Announced

FIFA has announced the seeding pots for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, placing Iceland in Pot 3. The 32 competing teams have been allocated to Pots 1-4 based on sporting principles.

The teams will next be drawn into eight groups of four in the Final Draw. The pots will be emptied by allocating each team to a different group, labeled from A to H. Here are the pots:

Pot 1: Russia, Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland, France

Pot 2: Spain, Peru, Switzerland, England, Colombia, Mexico, Uruguay, Croatia

Pot 3: Denmark, Iceland, Costa Rica, Sweden, Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, Iran

Pot 4: Serbia, Nigeria, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Panama, Korea Republic, Saudi Arabia

The Final Draw will take place on Friday, December 1st at Moscow’s State Kremlin Palace.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article