Elektra Ensemble Plays at Kjarvalsstadir Skip to content

Elektra Ensemble Plays at Kjarvalsstadir

By Iceland Review

Elektra Ensemble, which was recently named this year’s Reykjavík City Musical Group, will perform its second concert at the Reykjavík Art Museum – Kjarvalsstadir concert series tomorrow, playing Mozart, Beethoven and Brahms.

Tomorrow the focus will be on Germany and Austria, while the previous concert featured works of Russian composers.

Elektra Ensemble is comprised of five young women, pianist Ástrídur Alda Sigurdardóttir, flautist Emilía Rós Sigfúsdóttir, clarinetist Helga Björg Arnardóttir, violinist Helga Thóra Árnadóttir and cellist Margrét Árnadóttir, while violist Thórarinn Már Baldursson will be featured in a special guest performance during the concert.

The members of Elektra Ensemble have all played as soloists with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra and performed a number of concerts in Iceland and abroad. The concert begins at 8 pm and tickets cost ISK 1,500 (USD 11.90, EUR 8.80).

Click here to read more about the Iceland Symphony Orchestra.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!