EFTA Holds Ministerial Meeting in Westman Islands Skip to content

EFTA Holds Ministerial Meeting in Westman Islands

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) held its summer ministerial meeting in the Westman Islands today. Among the issues discussed at the meeting, chaired by Iceland’s foreign minister Gunnar Bragi Sveinsson, was developments in EFTA’s preferential trade relations.

Ministers of the four EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) signed a joint declaration on cooperation with the Philippines, represented by Mr Gregory L. Domingo, Secretary of Trade and Industry. The possibility of establishing free trade relations with the country will be examined, as stated in a press statement.

EFTA’s network of preferential trade agreements outside the EU currently comprises 25 agreements with 35 countries and territories, plus seven joint declarations on cooperation.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

– From 3€ per month

Share article


Recommended Posts