Dagur Eggertsson wins Social Democrat's primary Skip to content

Dagur Eggertsson wins Social Democrat’s primary

With 47% of the vote, Dagur B. Eggertsson won the Social Democrat’s top seat in the primaries for Reykjavík city council reports news station NFS. Dagur was followed by the current mayor, Steinunn Valdís Óskarsdóttir, and the representatives Stefán Jón Hafstein and Björk Vilhelmsdóttir.

The results were as follows:

Dagur B. Eggertsson 4,073 votes for 1st place

Steinunn Valdís Óskarsdóttir, 4,600 votes for 1-2 place

Stefán Jón Hafstein, 4,710 votes for 1-3 place

Björk Vilhelmsdóttir, 3,623 votes for 1-4 place

Oddný Sturludóttir, 3,693 votes for 1-5 place

According to news station NFS, Dagur was very happy with the results, he said that the list was very strong and now all the candidates would unite to win Reykjavík mayoral elections this spring.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article