Children’s Book Prize Awarded Skip to content

Children’s Book Prize Awarded

This year’s children’s book prize was on Wednesday awarded to Kjartan Yngvi Björnsson and Snæbjörn Brynjarsson for their story Hrafnsauga, the first in a fantasy trilogy for teenagers. Each year, the competition’s organizers select one manuscript to be awarded ISK 500,000 (USD 3,885, EUR 3,000).

hrafnsauga_children-s_book_awardThis year’s winners with their book Hrafnsauga.

Hrafnsauga was selected from 63 manuscripts, as stated in a press release from publisher Forlagið, which along with the family of author Ármann Kr. Einarsson, Ibby Iceland (the International Board of Books for Young People) and Sumargjöf, an organization working to protect children, helps finance the prize.

Kjartan, a literary critic, and Snæbjörn, a theater expert, are both 28 years old and Hrafnsauga is their first book. They described the story to as struggle between good and evil.

“The story follows the adventures of three teenagers in a fantasy world. Yes, this is a classic struggle between good and evil, and naturally also a travelogue,” the authors said, cautious not to reveal too much about the story.


Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article