Ásgeir Trausti and Retro Stefson Nominated for Nordic Prize Skip to content

Ásgeir Trausti and Retro Stefson Nominated for Nordic Prize

Icelandic musician Ásgeir Trausti and band Retro Stefson will represent Iceland at the 2012 Nordic Music Prize in the Best Album category, as announced this week. The nominations followed the artists getting the most nominations, six each, for the Icelandic Music Awards.

retro_stefson_album_2012The cover of Retro Stefson’s new album.

This will be the third time that the Nordic Music Prize is granted. Two years ago, Jónsi of Sigur Rós won the prize for his solo album Go, visir.is reports.

In addition to Ásgeir Trausti’s Dýrð í dauðaþögn and Retro Stefson by Retro Stefson, ten other albums have been nominated for the 2012 Nordic Music Prize:

From Denmark: Frk. B. Fricka by Selvhenter and Rhine Gold by Choir of Young Believers.

From Norway: The Silicone Veil by Susanne Sundfør, Sån av salve by Tønes and Smalhans by Lindstrøm.

From Finland: Pää Kii by Pää Kii and Kerkko Koskinen Kollektiivi by Kerkko Koskinen Kollektiivi.

From Sweden: The Cherry Thing by Neneh Cherry & The Thing, The Lion’s Roar by First Aid Kit and Ceremony by Anna von Hausswolff.

Click here to read more about the nominees and here to read about the nominations for the Icelandic Music Awards.


Click here to learn about our custom made photo book Iceland 2012 with the best pictures of the year.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!

Share article


Recommended Posts