130 New Glaciers Named Skip to content

130 New Glaciers Named

By Iceland Review

Glaciologist Oddur Sigurðsson of the Icelandic Met Office has named 130 Icelandic glaciers that used to be unnamed, Morgunblaðið reports.

Most of the glaciers are located on Tröllaskagi peninsula between Eyjafjörður and Skagafjörður in North Iceland.

The new names mainly refer to places in the vicinity. For example, Kerlingarbaksjökull lies to the west of the mountain Kerling in Eyjafjörður, Sýlingarjökull in Svarfaðardalur is named after the mountain Auðnasýling and Dyrajökull lies in the Dyrfjöll mountains in Borgarfjörður eystri, as stated on ruv.is.

Oddur is working with local and U.S. colleagues on making a map for an international glacier atlas.

The 130 glaciers are regarded as recently-discovered as they had not been recognized as such before, mainly because they were submerged in snow until 1996.

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get news from Iceland, photos, and in-depth stories delivered to your inbox every week!

* indicates required

Subscribe to Iceland Review

In-depth stories and high-quality photography showcasing life in Iceland!